Equestrian Socks – who needs them?

How I fell in love with a product I didn’t know I need

My favorite perfume, an old hand bag, a rock my grandma found on the beach long ago and now… equestrian socks? All under the header “Things I don’t want to live without.

A little joy goes a long way. And it can come in surprising packages. Not long ago, I got an email from Ben at Sox Trot, a US company that has been manufacturing fun socks right here in the US for 35 years. And a bit of fun is just what the doctor ordered: When Ben asked if I wanted to try their socks and possibly write a review, I didn’t think twice after seeing the unusual and wonderful designs on their web shop.

sox

When the socks arrived shortly after, I opened the envelope to find 2 pairs of socks with horse designs that would make any horse loveresse’s heart beat faster: a fun spin on a classic design a la Hermes and a design playing on an ‘open range’ theme with a Western flair. The minimalist packaging – a small card stock wrap – the soft feel of the material (Nylon & spandex) and the fun design were promising first indicators of a lovely product.383481210

What I liked:

  • The socks are just right for a knee hi: Pull on easy, stay in place, no pinching or cutting off blood circulation, soft – yet strong – feel.
  • Maintains shape
  • Easily washed by hand (ideal travel sock!)
  • Smile on my face, every time I look at my sock
  • No funny smell (like cheap, China-made socks often have)
  • Many designs plus solid colors available
  • Do not bulk up under your riding breeches or make your boot feel tight
  • Lovely for any occasion – don’t hide them under your riding boots!

What I didn’t like:

What’s not to like? For someone, who values quality and ‘made in USA’ along with tasteful, fun design – this product is a winner! Especially since it not only comes in equestrian designs, but also in a large variety of other designs – from cheery, tongue-in-cheek to traditional plaid and solid colors. I am about to order a half dozen to take along on a trip to Europe. These wonderful fun socks take up no space at all. Oh, I should get some more for my daughter, daughters-in-law, friend for her birthday, stocking stuffers…

What a sweet, affordable pleasure!

Now back to horses….

SReinhold_sm

 

Stefanie Reinhold

 

Leave a Reply

